I Love Johor Jaya Toastmasters Club


Project 4: Persuade to Inspire
Manual: Speeches by Management
Evaluator: Tea Hui Shyan
310th Regular Meeting (first meeting of 2014)

Let me begin with a question. “How much do you love Johor Jaya Toastmasters Club?’

My fellow Toastmasters and friends,

My next question is, “What is your personal goal as Toastmasters for the year 2014?” You don’t have to answer this out loud. Instead, put your hands on your cheeks, close your eyes and answer quietly to yourself. Now, put your hand on your heart and say it out loud, “I can do it.” Turn to a friend next to you and say, “I can do it. You can do it.”

Do you realize that all of your Toastmasters personal goals accumulated are the club’s goals, which we know as Distinguished Club Program (DCP)? You do not have to go all the way to contribute to the club. Just work for your personal goal and you’re actually helping the club to achieve the DCP plan.

I was not confident that this speech would be inspiring to the club members at first. I was nervous I felt I didn’t prepare enough. But it turned out well in the end – I was happy Hui Shyan evaluated my speech very well as a first timer and some members said my speech made them want to continue their projects. Four members volunteered to speak in next club meeting.

Comment wisely. All comments are subjected to Act 588 MCMC 1988.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.