First Things First

I have been in leadership camps for quite a numerous times in my life. I read non-fiction books about self-building. I attend classes in university. Yet, I cannot bring myself any nearer to answering (with a fully-satisfying answer) why can’t I actually erase this ‘procrastinator’ label glued on my forehead (of course in my imagination!)?

One day (or is it one night when I can’t fall asleep after an attempt of doing a-hundred-skipping ???), I found some interesting facts about these human endowments – self-awareness, conscience, creative imagination, independent will. I nearly forgot to mention this book. It is “First Things First”, written by Stephen R. Covey and Merrills. This book gives me a new perspective about time-management. I do learn this in school, camps and some books, but this book gives full explanations on the principles, the techniques, the whats, the whys and also briefly, on the history of time-management techniques development.

Now, let’s get back to those human endowments. I see now that what I am lack of is independent will. I always know that I need to do something. I fully realize that I need to finish it before the deadline. I know why I must do that thing. But I really can’t stick to what I’m doing for a long time. The same thing happens to routines. I mean good routines that I need to keep like ibadah sunat, exercising, good eating habit, waking up early and many more.

The interesting fact that I mentioned earlier is I have just realized that these self-endowments can actually be nurtured in oneself. Just like growing a plant in a pot. This book is giving some techniques that can be used to nurture our endowments. Wish me luck in improving myself! I recommend you to read this book.

“Knowledge shrinks as wisdom grows: for details are swallowed up in principles”

– Alfred North Whitehead –

Sincerely, I don’t even know this Alfred guy. Pardon me.

Thanks, in advance, for your feedback.

Cici Wawa Maisara

Mulan Jamilah

Doraemon

Entries by Date

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
