To Better Yourself, Just Do It

A friend, once, asked, “Why do you become a unit trust consultant?” I answered that I want to learn how to sell. I learned through reading that successful leaders of the world are great salesperson. I also learned that to be a good salesperson is to do it extensively, regularly – Learning By Doing.

I registered as unit trust consultant (UTC) in August 2010. Honestly, so far, I’m not very proud of my personal sales. But the point is I’m not giving up. The fact that I’m progressing very slowly does bother me, but I’m not stopping. I just have to give myself some more time, as long as I’m not stagnant.

The main reason of this slow progress, I believe, is the fact that I’m an introvert kind of person. Though I’m not the type of introvert who prefers to stay at home, when I socialize I prefer to observe and listen to other people talking rather than giving my own opinion, especially when I’m with people I barely know. And most of the time, I’m not comfortable when people ask for my opinion about things not directly related to me.

To some people, speaking in front of audience is way harder than selling one-to-one. To me, it’s the other way around. I’m not sure why. Perhaps, it’s because I found Toastmaster first before embarking in this journey of selling (that’s a little overly dramatic but I’d keep it that way).

My team leaders said, “The best way to improve your selling skill in this line is to join as many roadshows as you can.” I couldn’t agree more. We can meet a lot of people in roadshows and make as many mistakes as we can so we can improve our presentation scripts by those experience. But first, I need to learn to approach people naturally before steering the conversation to my presentation.

In the few roadshows I’ve joined, so far, I’ve found that when I speak to people and they give unexpected answers, I can’t continue the conversations the way I want to. So the conversation ended with the prospect saying “I’ll think about it and this is my number” before I even begin my presentation.

One of my UTC friends said, “You haven’t found your punchline. You’ll correct your scripts along the way as you meet many people.” That’s what I think so, too. I’m grateful I’ve enthusiastic leaders and helpful friends alongside me in this journey.

I just make sure that I progress, continuously, regardless of my speed. “Life is not a race”, says Aamir Khan in Three Idiots. In the end, I know, I will find the success I yearn for. Ameen Ya Rabb.

Thanks, in advance, for your feedback.

Cici Wawa Maisara

Mulan Jamilah

Doraemon

Entries by Date

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
