Magic and Ghosts

“I saw shadows of tree branches in my bedroom, reflected by the moonlight coming from the window.”

“What did the ghost look like?”

“Silly! That tree shadows were the ghosts. There was no tree for at least 20 yards from the house!”

– Her Fearful Symmetry by Aundrey Niffinneger –

We are conditioned that ghosts are terrifying, ugly and haunting. One of the reasons is, simply, the films say so. We were conditioned to believe so. Just like we were conditioned to believe that currency is actual money, credit card is modern lifestyle and make-ups make girls look pretty. Audrey Niffinneger argues that in her book. Ghosts can be beautiful, their presence can be comforting and they might long for friends as much as humans do.

The same goes with magic. The existence of David Copperfield and some other popular illusionists (shows my lack of general knowledge on the subject :-P), though inspiring, may have narrowed down the definition of magic. Magic doesn’t have to happen in a blink of an eye. Magic doesn’t have to have audience to validate it. Magic doesn’t have to be entertaining. Those are for pop culture.

To me, magic happens almost everyday in my life. It is because of the way I see it. Magic is when my mother called me and say, “You don’t have enough money now, do you?” just when I need it the most. Magic is when I woke up in the middle of the night and saw a text message from an old friend when my phone was in silent mode and the text went “I suddenly remember you.” Magic is when I was reminded of my friend and when I called, she said she was just talking about me with her friend.

Thinking about things like this makes me want to turn back and review all of my definitions about life. Is my definition of love correct? Is my definition of religion correct? Or, are they just another conditions being put in my mind because of they way I was brought up, educated or what I read? They all begin with that Her Fearful Symmetry book. I look deeper. I began to see more. I realized more things. Praises to HIM.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ayen
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 00:17:59

    suddenly..
    is my defination of CANTIK correct?

    Reply

Thanks, in advance, for your feedback.

Cici Wawa Maisara

Mulan Jamilah

Doraemon

Entries by Date

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
