Confidence

There is something attractive about people in their 40s and 50s. Their confidence. So appealing. So mesmerizing.

The way they tell things. The way they walk. The aura that they shed. The way they look at people around them. Especially, the way they give their opinions or state their stands in issues – the sureness, the way they know, the anticipated response.

It is not the same confidence that we can see in young people. Most young people are confident because they believe that they are the next big thing – they dream that and they work to achieving that. But the confidence that I see in mid-40s and 50s people are confidence that someone can only gain with age.

They don’t have to believe, because it is either they are THE BIG thing or they have seen so many BIG THINGs. The confidence that they gain by living through those BIG THINGs.

And in some instances when they seem to be confused or undecided, I am usually fooled. I am fooled when I almost believed that they are actually indecisive. When I look closely, there are actually the subtly flickered eyes and twitched nose and studded teeth and pursed lips. The subtle signs where they want us to learn making our own decision, so they pretend undecided. I can almost hear they say, “I don’t want to go through this anymore. Now is your time, your turn. Come on. Think. Hurry up. Make up your mind.”

They might want to say, “You see those lines in front of you. We have passed those ‘lines’. That is how we become what we are now. That is what you must go through. We’ll be waiting outside the lines. Come on.”

Notice how some people look more attractive as they age? That is the result of ‘the’ confidence.

  

    

    

I am going to let this entry sit in my blog for twenty years or so and see whether I’ll get ‘the’ confidence then. Confidence is not everything. But this is one of the things I want to check on when I got older, God willing. How does it feel? Will I remember the less confident, young me? I’ll see🙂

Thanks, in advance, for your feedback.

Cici Wawa Maisara

Mulan Jamilah

Doraemon

Entries by Date

September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
