Happy Festive and Happy New Year

President Opening Address
Joint Meeting with MIM Toastmasters Club of Johor Bahru and Sacred Heart Toastmasters Club
8 Days Hotel, Permas Jaya

Good evening.

Sergeant at Arms, Mr Area Governor, Madam Presidents of MIM Toastmasters Club and Sacred Heart Toastmasters Club, fellow Toastmasters and honored guests, I used to dream everything in my life. I dreamed my exam results and I got them. I dreamed of becoming a commander “Hormat kanan, hormat kanan, hormat” and I won the marching band competition. I dreamed of small small things in life and God fulfilled them. And I drew my dreams.

When I was in school, when the class gets too unbearably boring, I doodled. My dream car. My dream house. Pictures of random people that came to my imagination. When I was sixteen, I drew this from scratch. Pure imagination. And put it behind this textbook where it remains till now. The best part was when I was 19, one day, when I was walking towards UTM library, I met a guy who looked exactly like my imagination when I drew this. The resemblance was so uncanny that I turned back, walk faster than him, and pretended like I forgotten something and turn around again. I think I stared at him and I think he pretended not to notice. The reality took a few seconds more to sink in that I forgot to ask to take picture with him.

Few weeks ago, I was reminded of this when I found it among my books in my parents’ house. It suddenly dawned on me that I’ve forgotten how to dream. My imagination was not as vivid as it used to be. I cannot draw as good as this anymore. Somehow, along the years, I’ve unconsciously unlearned my dreaming skills. So now, I’m taking up drawing once again to polish up my rusty hands.

Speaking of dreams, I’m reminded of new year resolutions. Christmas, a special time for our Christians friends have something in common with all other festivals in Malaysia, which is holiday. Christmas holiday is the best time to refresh our mind and body before kick-starting the new year with new resolutions because it falls at year end. The best time to do self-evaluation, celebrate our achievements and set up new goals for the coming year. Fellow Toastmasters, ladies and gentlemen, no matter how old you are, how much you’ve grown up, never forget the dreamer child in you and fill your life with beautiful dreams and colorful wishes. I wish all of you a Merry Christmas, a refreshing holiday, an exciting new year and an enjoyable meeting tonight.

With that note, I would like to invite our meeting host tonight, the Charter President of MIM Toastmasters Club of JB. Please help me to welcome the Toastmaster of the evening ———-.

Thanks, in advance, for your feedback.

Cici Wawa Maisara

Mulan Jamilah

Doraemon

Entries by Date

December 2013
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
